Skip to content
May 29, 2012 / roscone

Sketch Time – Faces

So probably one of the most difficult things to draw ever for anyone is a human face.  After all it’s arguably the thing we most look at, being humans.  We can tell so much about a person simply by looking at their face.  Capturing that is REALLY difficult.  At least for me it is.  That’s why I try and take some time most days to draw out some people’s faces.  Sure, they aren’t photo-realistic, but that’s not what I’m going for.  I am simultaneously trying to infuse what little bit of personal style I have into the drawings.

A small note to all artists that might read this (and I know a few at least look at this blog cuz I am friends with a bunch), but if you ever need to practice drawing people I HIGHLY recommend The Drawing Script for source images.  They have a ton of images of all sorts of people in all sorts of poses and with all sorts of expressions.  Just having  a few of those photos as reference is wonderful.

Finally, I have one question to all artists:  How the hell do you draw mouths?  Mouths are the single most annoying and difficult part of a face for me to draw.  The dude has a pretty crappy one, and I tried something different with the girl with curly hair, but jeez.  I need to keep working on mouths.

Leave a Reply

